Best at 25

Last weekend was a busy one for me. It was the Figaro Run last Saturday. The next day, it was my best friend Clark’s (Clarysse) 25th birthday.

It’s been three months since we last saw each other. We barely text or call during that time. We’ve been busy with each other’s life, which sadly, don’t necessarily include me on hers or she on mine. It is during that time that I think we have voided the term “best friend”. And that feeling occurred to me many times already, especially during college. I know little about her life right now and vice versa. I don’t even get to check her Facebook status. But I think once you’ve called someone a “best friend”, even if you don’t do the duties and responsibility of being one, you continue to call and term each other until a “war” or death ends it.

But so much for my pathetic intro.

It is during the month of September when we get to break the absence of our communication. Well, it should. We always celebrate her birthday on the 5th, unlike mine when I always find myself occupied during the 27th of July or penniless. She must be really lucky. She gets a birthday allowance from her mom in UK for the celebration. And so am I- just not the allowance part, but for being invited always. I really should. I’m the best friend, in case you forget.

This year, though, we’ll celebrate it with her boy friend Mkhay. They’ve been going out for five years I think and in a couple of years or so, they’ll be married. But it’s the first time, in recent years, when she gets to celebrate it with him. The guy is a seaman and during the third or last quarter of the year, he’s out there traversing one of the seven oceans of the world. Only this year, Mkhay is studying for a certification he needs to rise from the ranks. I know him only through Clark’s stories. Though we’ve met in the past, we never had an opportunity to talk and get to know each other. That’s the reason probably why I was just erased from being the planned “best man” for their wedding. Just to make things clear, I’m cool with that. I still hope I’ll be part of the entourage.

Her birthday treat was a dinner one held at Kaisen Ryori in Seaside Macapagal Avenue. The planned celebration was supposed to be intimate, just the five of us- her, her boyfriend, her brother, another girl friend and me. But it almost doubled, we became nine. Aside from her and Mkhay, only her brother Christian is familiar. They were not even her relatives. It was from Mkhay’s side so it felt like odd for me. Nonetheless, Mkhay and Christian kept me busy talking. When the food was served, all of which are seafood, I understand why we have to increase in number for the dinner. There were five meals served twice. And though the restaurant’s name sound Japanese, it was all Filipino dish. I was worried if it was indeed a Japanese one. I’m not a fan of sushi, maki or sashimi. They don’t look like edible to me, maybe teriyaki or kararage or katsudon will do (they have Western equivalents).

It may not be obvious with my pout in this shot, but I really enjoyed the night. Who wouldn’t enjoy free dinner?

Despite being an all Filipino dinner, there were at least two dishes unfamiliar and they were left untouched by me. I’m not into exotic food and I don’t intend to be one. Still it was a scrumptious dinner. I really loved baked mussels. I ate more than twenty. And the shrimps were nicely cooked and really big. I think I had five. I feel heavy after that and my head hurt a bit. Damn, I forgot my diet.

Though I’m still jobless and broke last week, I still managed to produce a gift. Thanks to my credit card. I got her a tumbler from Starbucks. Now, I wonder how I owe the bank.

Here’s a photo of us taken that night.

Just being consistent with my pout. =)

This is how we look like a year ago (on her birthday).

Literally, ‘I got your back’.

And 2 years ago (again on her birthday)…

me, MJ, Clark and Dean...in a very serious shot... =)

See our evolution? Not much of a difference, right? By the way, in the photo a year ago, Mkhay was the one in the line when the picture was taken.

Next year, I hope to celebrate my 25th birthday with her and more friends. Wish me more money!

About johnthinkingaloud

Finding my purpose still... View all posts by johnthinkingaloud

Leave a Reply

