Adidas King of the Road 2010

The extra mile is right between your ears.

So the signboard says at the gym.

But signing up for a 10k run seemed like signing up for death or pain eternal at the minimum especially if you haven’t trained enough for that kind of physical exhaustion.

I survived it, nonetheless. Impossible is nothing, right?


The physical exhaustion I am talking about is the Adidas King of the Road 2010 that happened yesterday in Bonifacio Global City (BGC) where I run my first 10k race. Though I am known to be a very competitive guy taking most things gravely, KOTR wasn’t one of those most things. I took the challenge lightly as I know that I am not prepared enough to dash and set high standards for myself for that test of endurance. And though I planned a month ahead to prepare for KOTR, other priorities just wouldn’t let me have it. Three weeks before the big day, I am running every other night around the Mall of Asia complex. I limit doing weights at the gym to focus on my pacing. The plan was to double the 3.5km run the next week and some more distance days before the event. But my new work had me staying in the office ‘til midnight for 3 days straight and some other days passed 8pm. And mentally, my mind isn’t ready. So I don’t really expect to be faster.

But just like what Miley said, it doesn’t matter how fast you get there… it’s the climb, or should I say it’s the run. =)

How did I fare?

click to see image larger

Well, I clocked in one hour and seven minutes based on race time ending up as the 721st guy (there are 2000+ men) or the 922nd runner (out of 4200+ overall) to cross the finish line in the 10k category. Based on personal record, I registered a time of one hour and six minutes, rank 840 based on best times for men or the 999th overall for the said category. It took me a minute before I was able to pass through the start line and there are a lot of runners who have better personal records. I was hoping to have it a less than an hour but maybe that’s too much for me yet. Every runner is different…just so you know.

Based on my split time at 5km (courtesy of my watch), I made my best 5km at 27 minutes, breaking my previous 5km at 29 minutes. But it was a different story after the 5km as the next distance was the real challenge. Not only was it a new territory to embark but it is running in Kalayaan Flyover that made it a literal uphill “climb”. I have a terrible fear of heights so worst that just crossing a footbridge or overpass is already terrifying for me. But it wasn’t as dreadful as I expect it to be. But then again, the physical exhaustion is taking over. I have ten or eleven stops during the run and most of them happened during the last stretch. And going back to the flyover, the strap my packsack came off, which added to my burden while running.

But like what I said, I survived it. It defined my new limits. It set a standard for me to outmatch. My first 10k run is pretty tiring but it was fulfilling at the same time.

At P850 registration, yesterday’s event is probably the best running event I attended so far in the grounds of BGC (the Rexona Run is still my best one). It was my third time in BGC, matching my Mall of Asia events (total of six as of yesterday). And most of my next runs are still scheduled in BGC. So before the year ends, I would be more familiar with the place. Four more runs before 2010 is over!

Though there were some people complaining over some things about the event, I didn’t seemed to notice one. Maybe it was the conditioning that did it for me, that I am just going to enjoy the event and let my body experience what it felt like running ten kilometers or 6.21 miles. And that’s something I would have to keep in mind in my next events. I would have to keep my expectations of a fun run within its definition.

Can’t wait for my next 10k! Looking forward to Unilab Run 2 (RunRio Trilogy 3) too!

P.S.
I plan to run half-marathon, 21k that is, on my first year in running on April 2011. And by that time also, I want to cover 100km distance in all my events. As of yesterday, I’m exactly a third of my goal. My next runs for the year would put me halfway through it. I pray to God to keep me healthy to endure all the challenges and keep me financially stable to be able to join the coming runs. =)

The extra mile is right between your ears. 

So the signboard says at the gym.

But signing up for a 10k run seemed like signing up for death or pain eternal at the minimum especially if you haven’t trained enough for that kind of physical exhaustion.

I survived it, nonetheless. Impossible is nothing, right?

(adidas logo)

The physical exhaustion I am talking about is the Adidas King of the Road 2010 that happened yesterday in Bonifacio Global City (BGC) where I run my first 10k race. Though I am known to be a very competitive guy taking most things gravely, KOTR wasn’t one of those most things. I took the challenge lightly as I know that I am not prepared enough to dash and set high standards for myself for that test of endurance. And though I planned a month ahead to prepare for KOTR, other priorities just wouldn’t let me have it. Three weeks before the big day, I am running every other night around the Mall of Asia complex. I limit doing weights at the gym to focus on my pacing. The plan was to double the 3.5km run the next week and some more distance days before the event. But my new work had me staying in the office ‘til midnight for 3 days straight and some other days passed 8pm. And mentally, my mind isn’t ready. So I don’t really expect to be faster.

But just like what Miley said, it doesn’t matter how fast you get there… it’s the climb, or should I say it’s the run. =)

How did I fare? Well, I clocked in one hour and seven minutes based on race time ending up as the 721st guy (there are 2000+ men) or the 922nd runner (out of 4200+ overall) to cross the finish line in the 10k category. Based on personal record, I registered a time of one hour and six minutes, rank 840 based on best times for men or the 999th overall for the said category. It took me a minute before I was able to pass through the start line and there are a lot of runners who have better personal records. I was hoping to have it a less than an hour but maybe that’s too much for me yet. Every runner is different…just so you know.

Based on my split time at 5km (courtesy of my watch), I made my best 5km at 27 minutes, breaking my previous 5km at 29 minutes. But it was a different story after the 5km as the next distance was the real challenge. Not only was it a new territory to embark but it is running in Kalayaan Flyover that made it a literal uphill “climb”. I have a terrible fear of heights so worst that just crossing a footbridge or overpass is already terrifying for me. But it wasn’t as dreadful as I expect it to be. But then again, the physical exhaustion is taking over. I have ten or eleven stops during the run and most of them happened during the last stretch. And going back to the flyover, the strap my packsack came off, which added to my burden while running.

But like what I said, I survived it. It defined my new limits. It set a standard for me to outmatch. My first 10k run is pretty tiring but it was fulfilling at the same time.

At P850 registration, yesterday’s event is probably the best running event I attended so far in the grounds of BGC (the Rexona Run is still my best one). It was my third time in BGC, matching my Mall of Asia events (total of six as of yesterday). And most of my next runs are still scheduled in BGC. So before the year ends, I would be more familiar with the place. Four more runs before 2010 is over!

Though there were some people complaining over some things about the event, I didn’t seemed to notice one. Maybe it was the conditioning that did it for me, that I am just going to enjoy the event and let my body experience what it felt like running ten kilometers or 6.21 miles. And that’s something I would have to keep in mind in my next events. I would have to keep my expectations of a fun run within its definition.

Can’t wait for my next 10k!

P.S.
I plan to run half-marathon, 21k that is, on my first year in running on April 2011. And by that time also, I want to cover 100km distance in all my events. As of yesterday, I’m exactly a third of my goal. My next runs for the year would put me halfway through it. I pray to God to keep me healthy to endure all the challenges and keep me financially stable to be able to join the coming runs. =)

About johnthinkingaloud

Finding my purpose still... View all posts by johnthinkingaloud

One response to “Adidas King of the Road 2010

Leave a Reply

